Our firm can help you pursue the compensation you deserve. We have a record of helping car accident victims just like you to recover the damages they need and deserve in the aftermath of a car accident. In addition to car accidents we also represent many types of personal injury victims.
Contact Abdalla Law, PLLC, for a free case review. We can explain your rights, discuss your legal rights and describe the steps we can take to secure a recovery for you.
If you have questions, consult our Frequently Asked Questions About Car Accidents page and call us today.
If another party does something wrong that causes you to suffer vehicle damage, bodily harm or the death of a loved one, you have the right to take legal action against that party.
Examples of careless or reckless conduct that causes accidents, injuries and deaths include:
Usually, the liable party is another driver. In some cases, multiple drivers may be at fault.
There are also cases in which a non-driver is at fault. Instead, the liable party is an employer whose employee caused your accident while on the clock or a bar that served alcohol to a drunk driver who crashed into you. It could also be the manufacturer of a defective automobile or auto part or a government entity that failed to maintain the road in a safe condition.
Under Mississippi’s “pure comparative negligence” law, parties will be held liable in a car accident based on the percentage of fault attributed to them.
For example, let’s say you suffer $100,000 in damages in a car crash in which two other parties are at fault. Party A is 80 percent at fault, and Party B is 20 percent at fault. You can recover $80,000 from Party A and $20,000 from Party B. Even if you are partially to blame for the wreck, you can still recover. In this example, if you were 20 percent at fault, you could still seek $80,000 in damages from the other driver.
We will thoroughly examine your case to determine the percentage of fault that can be attributed to each party involved in your auto accident.
Generally, you will have two options for seeking compensation after a crash. You can turn to:
In Mississippi, drivers must carry liability insurance. This pays for damage they cause in an auto accident. The minimum insurance amounts (or limits) they must carry are:
If your damage exceeds the driver’s policy limits, or if the driver has no insurance at all, then you may be able to seek compensation through your own auto insurance policy. This is called uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage.
You may have other insurance options as well, such as collision coverage that will pay for your vehicle repair or replacement or medical payments coverage that will cover your hospital bills – regardless of who is at fault.
After an accident, we want you to focus on your health and your family. Meanwhile, our legal team can:
We provide legal services on a “contingency fee” basis. You won’t pay anything unless we obtain compensation for you. If you would like to learn more, simply contact us today.